Recipes / News & Reading

Reliability 3/5

Hacker News AI digest to Telegram

Once a day it queries the free Hacker News Algolia API for AI stories from the last 24 hours, scrapes up to three articles, summarizes them (in Russian by default) via OpenRouter and posts a digest to Telegram. Sends 'no news today' if nothing qualifies.

Scrolling Hacker News for AI storiesn8n + OpenRouter (GPT-5) + Telegram
Cost afterNot reported (HN API is free; OpenRouter credits extra)
SetupMedium · Not reported
Time savedNot reported
SkillIntermediate

App vs bot, side by side

Old app vs bot
Old app / habitBot
ToolHacker News front page, checked by handn8n + HN Algolia API + OpenRouter GPT-5 (GPT-4 fallback) + Telegram
Monthly costNot reportedNot reported (HN API is free; OpenRouter credits extra)
SetupNone (already in use)Not reported · Intermediate
Your timeBaselineNot reported
MaintenanceHandled by vendor/you as beforeChange the summary language and query; some sites block scraping.
PrivacyData stays with the app vendorArticle text goes to OpenRouter.

Full comparison

ReplacesHacker News front page, checked by hand
Bot / agent stackn8n + HN Algolia API + OpenRouter GPT-5 (GPT-4 fallback) + Telegram
Monthly cost beforeNot reported
Monthly cost afterNot reported (HN API is free; OpenRouter credits extra)
Setup timeNot reported
Time savedNot reported
Skill levelIntermediate
Reliability3/5: published template with clear steps; no long-term usage data in the source. Skips blocked scrapes and has a model fallback.
MaintenanceChange the summary language and query; some sites block scraping.
Privacy & dataArticle text goes to OpenRouter.
Best forDevelopers who want a daily AI news pulse
Not forPeople wanting broad, non-tech news

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Only 3 stories a day, no doom-scroll
  • Free HN API, no auth
  • Model fallback built in

Cons

  • Russian output by default, must edit prompt
  • Some articles fail to scrape

How it works

  1. Daily schedule
  2. Query HN Algolia for AI stories, last 24h, max 3
  3. If none, send 'no news today'
  4. Scrape each article to Markdown
  5. Summarize with OpenRouter
  6. Post formatted digest to Telegram

Source and evidence

n8n community template (RenegaDe, updated about 2 months before our check).

Read the original n8n template source ↗

“Not reported” means the source doesn't say. We never fill gaps with guesses. Numbers marked “per author” or “vendor claim” are the source's own and weren't independently tested. Source re-checked 2026-10-16.

Plain-text summary (for search and AI assistants)

Hacker News AI digest to Telegram. Replaces Hacker News front page, checked by hand with n8n + HN Algolia API + OpenRouter GPT-5 (GPT-4 fallback) + Telegram. Cost before: Not reported. Cost after: Not reported (HN API is free; OpenRouter credits extra). Setup: Not reported, Intermediate. Time saved: Not reported. Reliability 3/5: 3/5: published template with clear steps; no long-term usage data in the source. Skips blocked scrapes and has a model fallback. Best for: Developers who want a daily AI news pulse. Not for: People wanting broad, non-tech news. Source: https://n8n.io/workflows/17875-send-a-daily-ai-news-digest-from-hacker-news-with-openrouter-gpt-5-and-telegram/

Related recipes

More: all News & Reading recipes · Best AI agents to replace Zapier · AI agents that replace browsing and search · n8n vs Make: AI agent recipes compared

Compare with another recipe ← All recipes

One real app-to-bot swap, every week

Setups people actually use instead of apps: what it costs, what breaks, and the source. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Our newsletter runs on beehiiv. Start your own newsletter on beehiiv ↗
Affiliate link: we earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. It doesn't affect ratings. Disclosure

What is beehiiv?

beehiiv is a newsletter platform: you write and send emails, host a newsletter website, and grow and monetize a list from one place. AppToBot's own newsletter runs on it.

  • Free plan with up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends
  • Built-in website, recommendation network and analytics
  • 0% cut of paid subscription revenue (Stripe fees apply)

Good for: starting or growing an email newsletter. Not ideal for: email automations or removing beehiiv branding on a $0 budget (those need Lite or Pro).

Free plan: $0, no card needed. Paid plans from $49/mo billed annually (Lite, up to 1,000 subscribers). People who sign up through our link get a 14-day trial plus 20% off their first 3 months, per beehiiv's partner page. Facts as of Oct 2026. More about beehiiv →