ChatGPT agent grocery shopping: it builds the cart from a list
User had ChatGPT agent mode build and order a grocery haul from a list.
Setup steps
- Give list
- Watch agent shop
- Confirm checkout
Steps summarized from the original Reddit source ↗. Use “Copy” to grab them with the tools and source link, or copy an AI prompt.
Also reported by 4 other sources
- LinkedIn post ↗: Order placed through Instacart and delivered on time, but slow, and the user had to take over to log in and trim the cart.
- LinkedIn post ↗: Built a correct cart on Instacart after trial and error; Walmart and Amazon Fresh blocked it.
- Understanding AI (newsletter) ↗: Added 15 of 16 items and ordered once the writer logged in by hand; it had given up at the login step.
- Personal blog ↗: Filled the cart in about 12 minutes and stopped before checkout, which it can't do without the user.
Independent reports of the same kind of setup by different authors, each read by us on Oct 17, 2026. They add context and don't change our rating. How we count
Try it with AI
Paste this into ChatGPT, Claude or your own agent for step-by-step help. Prompt written by AppToBot from this recipe's data, not by the original author. It keeps drafts for your review and asks before anything is sent or paid.
Help me set up this automation using ChatGPT agent mode: "ChatGPT agent grocery shopping: it builds the cart from a list". Goal: replace Grocery delivery app browsing. How it should work: - Trigger: Your grocery list - Then: ChatGPT agent builds the cart - Result: Grocery order placed Setup steps (summarized from the original source): 1. Give list 2. Watch agent shop 3. Confirm checkout Guide me one step at a time. Ask me for anything you need (accounts, sheet or channel names) before you start. Safety rules: - Build and test with sample data first, and show me a sample result before anything goes live. - Keep anything that goes to other people (emails, posts, replies, record updates) as drafts for my review until I say otherwise. - Never send, post, buy, pay, delete or change records without my approval. - Tell me about any cost (paid plans, API usage) before I'd incur it, and help me set a spending limit. - Keep API keys and passwords out of shared docs and chats. - Privacy: Agent uses your store account and payment. Based on: https://www.reddit.com/r/OpenAI/comments/1m9u7e6/agent_mode_ordered_this_grocery_haul/
Tool names link to each official site (opens in a new tab).
Running cost: 💲 Paid plan needed Needs a paid ChatGPT plan, per source. No-code How we sort costs
Stack: ChatGPT agent
App vs bot, side by side
| Old app / habit | Bot | |
|---|---|---|
| Tool | Grocery delivery app browsing | ChatGPT agent mode |
| Monthly cost | Not reported | ChatGPT paid plan |
| Setup | None (already in use) | Not reported · Beginner |
| Your time | Baseline | Not reported |
| Maintenance | Handled by vendor/you as before | Supervise every order. |
| Privacy | Data stays with the app vendor | Agent uses your store account and payment. |
Full comparison
| Replaces | Grocery delivery app browsing |
|---|---|
| Bot / agent stack | ChatGPT agent mode |
| Monthly cost before | Not reported |
| Monthly cost after | ChatGPT paid plan |
| Setup time | Not reported |
| Time saved | Not reported |
| Skill level | Beginner |
| Reliability | 2/5: worked once; other reports cite anti-bot blocks and slow runs. |
| Maintenance | Supervise every order. |
| Privacy & data | Agent uses your store account and payment. |
| Best for | Curious early adopters |
| Not for | Time-critical weekly shopping |
Pros and cons
Pros
- Order from a plain list
Cons
- Slow
- Can be blocked
Source and evidence
Works, but other reports cite anti-bot blocks and slow runs.
Read the original Reddit source ↗
“Not reported” means the source doesn't say. We never fill gaps with guesses. Numbers marked “per author” or “vendor claim” are the source's own and weren't independently tested. Source check: Source (Reddit) blocked our fetcher on 2026-10-15; details from original read.
Our rating is an editorial opinion based on the public source above, not lab testing. Spot an error? Request a correction.
Plain-text summary (for search and AI assistants)
ChatGPT agent grocery shopping: it builds the cart from a list. Replaces Grocery delivery app browsing with ChatGPT agent mode. Cost before: Not reported. Cost after: ChatGPT paid plan. Setup: Not reported, Beginner. Time saved: Not reported. Reliability 2/5: 2/5: worked once; other reports cite anti-bot blocks and slow runs. Best for: Curious early adopters. Not for: Time-critical weekly shopping. Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/OpenAI/comments/1m9u7e6/agent_mode_ordered_this_grocery_haul/
Related recipes
- Amazon price tracker with Telegram alerts (n8n + Gemini) (2/5)
- AI agent restaurant booking: ChatGPT agent books a table (1/5)
More: all Shopping recipes · AI agents that replace browsing and search
Questions, corrections or ideas?
Spotted an error, want a recipe covered, or have a partnership idea? Send us a message and we'll get back to you.
Starting your own newsletter? Try beehiiv ↗
What is beehiiv?
beehiiv is a newsletter platform: you write and send emails, host a newsletter website, and grow and monetize a list from one place. We've used it for our own newsletter.
beehiiv says (vendor claims, not tested by us):
- Free plan with up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends
- Built-in website, recommendation network and analytics
- 0% cut of paid subscription revenue (Stripe fees apply)
Good for: starting or growing an email newsletter. Not ideal for: email automations or removing beehiiv branding on a $0 budget (those need Lite or Pro).
Free plan: $0, no card needed. Paid plans from $49/mo billed annually (Lite, up to 1,000 subscribers). People who sign up through our link get a 14-day trial plus 20% off their first 3 months, per beehiiv's partner page. Facts as of Oct 2026, from beehiiv's own website. More about beehiiv →