Compare app-to-bot swaps
Pick two recipes to see them side by side, or scan every swap in one table.
All recipes at a glance
| Recipe | Replaces | Cost after | Setup | Time saved | Skill | Reliability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hosted social post scheduler | Buffer/Hootsuite-style scheduler | Pennies/mo in API calls on self-hosted n8n (per author) | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 4/5 |
| CRM auto-updates from sent emails | Manual Salesforce data entry | LLM API + n8n hosting; total Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Advanced | 4/5 |
| Social scheduling + FAQ triage agents | 3 part-time contractors | About $190/mo infrastructure (per author) | Not reported | About 40% of tickets auto-handled (per author) | Advanced | 4/5 |
| Support inbox triage with FAQ-grounded drafts | Helpdesk first-pass triage | OpenAI API usage + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 4/5 |
| Inbox labeler with Sheets log & dry-run mode | Email client filters/rules | $29 template (n8n listing) + OpenAI API + n8n | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 4/5 |
| Lead replies with human approval loop | Writing sales replies by hand | OpenAI API usage + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 4/5 |
| AI RSS reader with a daily digest | Checking news sites & social feeds | Free app; optional paid AI features | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 4/5 |
| AI SEO content pipeline | SEO tools + content team workflow | $12/mo VPS + about $40-60/mo APIs; ~$0.30 per article (per author) | Not reported | Per author: 11.4 minutes per article vs 4-8 hours | Advanced | 4/5 |
| Social listening, invoicing, lead routing in one stack | 4 separate SaaS tools (social listening, invoicing, order emails, lead routing) | Self-hosting + API usage; amount Not reported | 1-2 days per workflow (per author) | Not reported | Advanced | 3/5 |
| Reddit-to-Slack alerts in 5 minutes | Custom-coded Reddit poller | Free on self-hosted n8n | About 5 minutes (per title) | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Multi-agent inbox triage & auto-reply | Manually sorting Gmail | OpenAI API usage + n8n; free template | About 10-15 minutes (per template) | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Billing/Technical/Account specialist router | Manual support routing | OpenAI API usage + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Hourly AI-news digest to Telegram | Scrolling HN/Reddit for news | Free with bundled local Ollama; API costs with cloud LLMs | About 5 minutes quickstart (per README) | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| One 5-minute digest for 30+ newsletters | Reading newsletters one by one | Pro $4.90/mo; Max $9/mo; 7-day trial (vendor pricing) | About 60 seconds (vendor claim) | 85% reading time saved (vendor claim, not independent) | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Telegram finance agent for receipts | Expense tracker apps | Gemini API (free tier available) + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Free OCR receipt logger | Manual expense spreadsheets | Free (OCR.space free key) + n8n | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Invoice OCR from Drive, Gmail & Telegram | Bookkeeping data entry | $5 template (n8n listing) + Gemini key + n8n | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Itemized receipt ledger with chat queries | Expense apps | Vision + OpenRouter API usage + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Claude categorizes raw bank transactions | Budgeting apps (Mint/YNAB-style) | Claude plan + SheetLink (free plan for basic sync; Max for Claude CLI use) | Three commands (per author) | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Answer engine instead of search | Google Search | Free; Pro $20/mo | None | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Autonomous job-search pipeline | Browsing job boards daily | Claude Pro or higher | About 10 minutes of prep (per author) | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| YouTube channel summaries by email | Watching every new video | Make free tier + OpenAI API (per our original read) | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Meeting recordings to Notion notes | Manual meeting notes | deAPI + Anthropic API usage + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Google Maps lead list builder | Paid lead databases / manual prospecting | Several API keys (scraper, crawler, SerpAPI, OpenAI) + n8n; free template | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Morning briefing email: news, tasks and weather | News, to-do and weather apps checked by hand | Not reported (template is free; needs a Gemini API key) | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Daily plan email from Todoist + Google Calendar | Todoist + Google Calendar checked manually | Not reported (template is free; OpenAI API usage extra) | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Email summaries posted to Slack (Make) | Reading/forwarding emails manually | Not reported (Make plan + OpenAI usage) | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Inbox triage agent with Make AI Agents | Rule-based Gmail filters + manual sorting | About $9/mo on Make Core for ~30 emails/day at 15-min polling (vendor estimate); LLM tokens extra if you bring your own key | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Hacker News AI digest to Telegram | Hacker News front page, checked by hand | Not reported (HN API is free; OpenRouter credits extra) | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Chat bot that books, moves and cancels appointments | Calendly-style scheduler or manual email scheduling | Not reported (Groq free tier supported, per template) | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| SMS booking agent with lead follow-ups | Receptionist/manual texting + scheduling app | Not reported (Twilio, OpenAI and Cal.com usage) | Not reported | Not reported | Advanced | 3/5 |
| Competitor pricing-page change alerts | Visualping-style monitors or checking competitor sites by hand | Not reported (OpenAI called only when a page changes) | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 3/5 |
| Executive-style daily meeting prep brief | Manual pre-meeting research (calendar, inbox, LinkedIn) | $25 one-time template + OpenRouter/Hunter usage | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 3/5 |
| Custom budget app built by Claude Code | Monarch Money | Claude subscription + aggregator; amount Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Advanced | 2/5 |
| Agent fills the grocery cart | Grocery delivery app browsing | ChatGPT paid plan | Not reported | Not reported | Beginner | 2/5 |
| Amazon price-drop alerts to Telegram | Price-tracker sites/extensions | $20 template (n8n listing) + Gemini API + n8n | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 2/5 |
| AI agent that decides when a page change is worth an email | Page-change monitoring service | Not reported (Firecrawl + OpenAI usage) | Not reported | Not reported | Intermediate | 2/5 |
| Agent books a restaurant table | Reservation apps | ChatGPT paid plan | None | Negative: about 11 minutes on forms vs about 2 minutes by hand (NN/G) | Beginner | 1/5 |
One real app-to-bot swap, every week
Setups people actually use instead of apps: what it costs, what breaks, and the source. Free, unsubscribe anytime.
Our newsletter runs on beehiiv. Start your own newsletter on beehiiv ↗
Affiliate link: we earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. It doesn't affect ratings. Disclosure
What is beehiiv?
beehiiv is a newsletter platform: you write and send emails, host a newsletter website, and grow and monetize a list from one place. AppToBot's own newsletter runs on it.
beehiiv says (vendor claims, not tested by us):
- Free plan with up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends
- Built-in website, recommendation network and analytics
- 0% cut of paid subscription revenue (Stripe fees apply)
Good for: starting or growing an email newsletter. Not ideal for: email automations or removing beehiiv branding on a $0 budget (those need Lite or Pro).
Free plan: $0, no card needed. Paid plans from $49/mo billed annually (Lite, up to 1,000 subscribers). People who sign up through our link get a 14-day trial plus 20% off their first 3 months, per beehiiv's partner page. Facts as of Oct 2026, from beehiiv's own website. More about beehiiv →